Citizen me, life, materialistic philosophy, philosophical me

When capitalist me supported the left

For sometime, I have been harbouring a pathological hatred for the left. I can’t fathom why they have to be paranoid against everything that is American. Superficially, it seems they are a prisoner of the past. A past where every allay and highway of economy was stained by the blood of the workers. On a personal level, I can never forgive them for supporting the Chinese when they attacked the land of my ancestors. In some ways, I am also a prisoner of the past although the decry the left for being afflicted with this virus.I also can’t forgive left for economically killing Calcutta and as a consequence all that lay to the east of this erstwhile metropolis.

I have also been a diabetic for the last two years  and my parents have been diabetic for as long as I can remember.I spent over a hundred rupees per day on my medicines and tests. Having blessed with an above average IQ, a middle class upbringing and some fate, I can afford to pay my bills without battling an eyelid. But the over a sixth of India are said to be diabetic and statistically, I doubt even half of them can afford the facilities,I take for granted.This brings me to the question as to whether the drugs that can help billions really need to be so costly. From an economic standpoint, the variable cost of producing extra drugs seems to be negligible this explains why 50 mg of januvia costs the same as 100 mg of the same drug. Besides this obvious lack of ethics on the part of pharmaceutical companies, there is another thought that bothers me. This is about side effects. I may be diabetic, but I hope to live a thousand years, with this end in mine, I watch all my biological parameters by spending more of my blood and sweat. If I am to lie long enough, I have to depend on drugs for a lions share of my heart beats.

For the ignorant, the best example of post of peril will be the location of kidney in a diabetic. Every day of uncontrolled diabetes deals a thousand death nails on the coffin of the kidneys. To make matters worse the toxic parts of medicines have to be filtered by diabetes and each of those molecules takes a test of the kidneys in a way that is definitely not a walk in the park.In some ways the medicines I take are a double-edged sword, it prevents diabetes from harming my kidneys but might be silently killing it.

This paradox drives me to the reason why I am writing this post. Clinical trials and India.  On any other day when the Sun rises from the east, the only reason I envy Pakistan is for their media. Today, I was pleasantly surprised when page 1 of ibnlive did not resemble page 3 of less reputed tabloids which are no more than bread,butter and oxygen of paparazzi. It carried a report on ratification of Indian population.  For the vast majority of you who know what ratification means, I am in no way referring to the literal meaning of the word but only phonetics. For pharmaceutical companies we Indians are nothing but rats whose life can be dispensed off. They have no fear of multi million dollar settlement claims. The answer to whether my kidneys can hold up to the onslaught of years of medicines probably lies in some unethical trials.

Till then in the midst of some inexplicable emotions, I hope the left keeps on fighting the MNCs, the very same MNCs without whom I can’t live.

Standard

5 thoughts on “When capitalist me supported the left

  1. If it had not been for the capitalists the drugs for diabetes would not hv been invented in the first place. This is not to say that they should continuously strive to aim only for the bucks. There has to be a middle path to this. Unfortunately the line for that can be drawn only by people themselves. What seems right to you may not seem the same for others!

    The last lines of the post sums it up quite perfectly.

  2. Anirudh says:

    dear doga,

    i shal not take a stand..as meaning less as it is.. all i say — i share grief ur brother…. do we save honor or lives? not a simple answer — and the general world good doesnt help…not everytime…. the feeling of being nothing but cheap labor and cheap rats and worlds largest market bullshit bulsit has already left me tired…. but…well capitalists got the money!

    • himangshu says:

      i expected a comment from you for this post sums up several of your observations in our uncountable interactions. Its not about money for a change honey but that there is no right no wrong. If the sweat of capitalist i s not fuelled by immoral greed ,I might not be alive today

  3. Since I work in pharma field , I think I outta give my views here. In India, the laws regulating the pharma industry are insufficient as well as ineffective. How often u hear a lawsuit over a drug gone bad ? Almost never. That being said, a drug need at the very least 1 billion dollors and 10-12 yrs of research to develop it. You cannot really blame those companies for trying to make most out of the drug till its patent expires.

    As per my personal opinion, the most effective way is to strengthen the related laws and make the people aware about them. That’s the best possible way in current situation.

Leave a Reply

