Citizen me

Only time i detested the sight of Deepikas legs

Patriotism is a word we very often come across since the days we learn our a for apples and b for balls. For sake of political correctness, our history and social studies are replete with tales of patriotic tales of some of our revered heroes. For the sake of pure literary analysis, patriotism is bathed in paradox. A word that derives its origins from the word father and yet, it  is defined as love for motherland. I don’t know how to define patriotism in words that satisfies me leave alone some inadvertent reader of this post. But bowing before the kiss principle “Keep it stupid and simple” – I can safely say many a stories, many a videos raise goosebumps in my heart. Probably those are distinctly observable patriotic heartbeats of my life.

For any Indian to have grown up in the doordarshan age, “Mile Sur mera tumhara” is no alien permutation of letters. It was a collection of notes that somehow struck a chord in our heart.In my first years of life,i understood very little of what was not spoken in Assamese. So, my earliest memories of this song was waiting for the single sentence that I could understand. As a juvenile who was yet to reach his teens, I could not draw any deep philosophical meaning of the joy I got from watching this song but as self acclaimed wise 23-year-old, I guess this video was my first realization of my being a part of the mosaic called “India”.

Having dwelt on my beautiful memories of the “original mile sur”, it goes without saying that I feel a kind of ownership over this song. I feel my life is incomplete without this song.For last few days, there was a lot of screaming about a new “mile sur”.  I was looking forward to it and my hopes were ignited by the new version of Vande Mataram released on India’s fiftieth Independence Day. For the people who cry a lot about religion, this song was revamped by a muslim.

Some hopes are created only to be crushed, some aspirations remain aspirations forever never finding the strength to crossover to the real world. My first glimpse of this video at you tube filled me with rage. The first image was of “Vodafone” and “zoom”. By no distortion of reality can both be labeled as national icons. icons that define the new resurgent India. But staying true to the truest interpretation of the word “trailer”, this new mile sur had more assaults on my memory in store. The next image that really dealt the death knell on the coffin of my hopes was of deepika padukone in skimpy one-piece enjoying some water-fall. To give a brief background of me morally I am an average IITian. I am all for more open society. If there is fan club making sex compulsory in movies, I would be among the first to promote it. I lament that I am ,soon, going to be  a 24-year-old virgin. Normally any sexy girls legs and more of anatomy are something i crave for. But when one looks forward to feeling proud of being an Indian, somehow lust and patriotism do not mix well. The rest of the video was watched with rage and contempt with  a single-minded dedication to pick more loopholes. I gave up for i found only 2 moments that made me feel proud of my citizenship. One was Bhupen Hazarika, i had ulterior motives for it for I am a Hazarika and it does not harm to your ego to share the surname with the most famous person born in your homestate.Second was Abhinav Bindra. I would only use one line to lament the lack of Sachin,Rathore,Malleshwari,Murthy,Kalam,Rajni,Chiranjeevi and IITs,IIMs and the overdose of bollywood for it deserves no second line.

To sum up I will quote one of my juniors “missing Rakhi Sawant”, well I say i missed her only in physical representation in video, to me the entire video smacked of the essence, that have become a part of the antiques we associate with her.

Standard

10 thoughts on “Only time i detested the sight of Deepikas legs

  1. Seriously you will blog even if someone so much as fart :O
    We all get it that this version is not as good as the original one. We all are on facebook and twitter (No one use Orkut anyways) 🙂

    Blog something that don’t make me wanna stab you 😀

    P.S. – Basically I am taking out my frustration of not blogging on your blog. No offense, of course 😛

    • himangshu says:

      Blog something that don’t make me wanna stab you 😀
      ans: no matter what i do so long as Pj god loves me, it wont happen.

      Q1)you will blog even if someone farted?

      needed to let it out. but fart better than this joke

      On a important note, its about time you wrote something.
      May a tribute to my greatness is a good idea
      P.S: i megaton of offence taken 😛

  2. 1. Too much of Bollywood.
    2. Bollywood is one of the mightiest weapons in Indian soft power arsenal. (the other 2 being cuisine and IT)
    3. It seemed like a deliberate attempt at popularizing other sports (by excluding cricket). Something I support but not the chosen means.
    4. There seems to be a mismatch between Ash’s lips and the background voice.
    5. Sallu has a fetish for being topless. Almost did it here as well but maybe due to some patriotic considerations put on a baniyan at the last moment.
    6. Liked Shivamani.
    7. India has too many celebrities today. Its difficult to make a completely unbiased ‘representative set’.

  3. K says:

    Just watched the video :
    1) Salman Khan (without a shirt) , Ranbir Kapor, Priyanka Chopra , Shilpa Shetty and Deepika Padukone !!! Do they even represent Bollywood , let alone India !!! Thank God they had Amitabh Bacchan , SRK and Aamir Khan (people who have actually done something).

    3) Need I even ask … where is Sachin, or for that matter any cricketer ?

    4) IT superpower , right ? Wish they had someone like Narayan Murthy or Azim Premji . For that matter, Ratan Tata , Mukesh / Anil Ambani would have represented India’s rising stature in the corporate world.

    5) Really liked the ending . Wish they had more of that kind , and less of the Bollywood hoopla.

    6) This video does ask a pertinent question … why is our national consciousness so saturated by Bollywood and politics ? (Funny thing I dont remember seeing any politicians in the video). What about writers , scientists and so many others who make a difference ?

      • K says:

        Funny thing you brought that up … I was thinking of RK Narayan , Ruskin Bond and Manoj Das while looking at the video . How come no writers / cartoonists ?

        btw, when is the ftf blog coming ?

  4. Reading a lot of blogs/articles bashing the new MSMT, I tend to feel a little sympathetic to its makers, than I would actually be.
    So there are a few things that I feel about it.
    1) The old MSMT was much much loved. I understand what you say, I used to likewise wait for the bengali bit, even though I did understand Hindi, and then I would also try to fit meanings to the words spoken in unfamiliar language. I guess it had something to do with the feeling of being a part, an important of of this mosaic called India. But even the old MSMT had bollywood, musicians and cricketers. I would say, they did seem way less artificial than they do now. Can we really get rid of that though ?
    2) The Salman part actually was the only soulful part of the video, if only he had his shirt on, people would have loved it.
    3)Think of it this way, we have grown up with the old version. there will be a generation of kids who will grow up with this song, maybe this song gives them that patriotic quickening of the heart feeling. If it does, I would say the song has done a good job.
    4) The video is on national integration, I would say, art is a great ambassador of integration, in that sense having bollywood celebrities makes sense. Common man… can u imagine common man in the video… it is a video, it a product, they are just marketing it using celebrities. We can go on and on about what all the video left, but we can also see what all the video included. I would have loved it if the theme of integration was taken a step ahead from just inter state integration to a more universal , India-Pak, inter-country integration. It had huge potential. (I like the Aman-ki-Asha initiatives though)
    5) It is a bullshit video I know, I hated it 😀

Leave a Reply

