kaygeepee

Comedy in crisis

All good things in life must end. As one of the friend says even love comes with expiry date. But again too much of everything is bad. So, also my stay in kgp, although was a wonderful journey, the thought that some-other journey was awaiting was a not so frightening thought. I enjoyed every second of my stay in kgp. But there are some moments that forever brings out a smile and even fewer moments that make you want to scream in disbelief.

By your buddha year any dual degree students know what he wants to do with his last year in kgp. I wanted a year with minimal academic interference. The first step in this direction is to take courses whose syllabus is less. In this pursuit, i took information theory and coding, for non electronic students, the subject name and matter is of little significance. We duals were only 17 and my wing-man in more ways than one -Lodu- did not take this course. So, I find myself as one of the only 2 duals in this class. The other dual was Kishore the only dehli(for non kgpians, a dehli is a 10 pointer), so as a sincere six point someone, i felt it was the moral responsibility of my high cg friend to tell me of all tests etc. I have omitted assignments for assignments were beneath the dignity of fifth years.

Five years in kgp creates a lot of bad habits, we are really dependent on net. If possible, we would even have our food through computer.So, both of us choose to ignore the analog exam time-table put up on our class room. We were by now used to deciphering the central time-table, finding out the subjects that were taught in same slot. It was a complex process but it could be done online so our spinal cords made us prefer it over anything else. But in fifth year some exams diverge from central time-table. This exam of ours was preponed to forenoon from after noon.

My wing man Lodu had another subject in the same slot. That subject too was pre-poned for all departmental exams of that slot were preponed. Usually, I go to Lodu’s room a few hours before exam to know the syllabus and he tells me what to study to pass.This time the syllabus was too short and he had different subject so this routine was dropped. Kishore had told me the exam was on after noon. So after waking up at 5 am and completing my morning run, I went to partake in a siesta.At around 11 am Kishore called me to confirm the exam time. By the way 11 am was the time exam ended for mid sems, I told him it is scheduled for afternoon for he had himself told me so.

While I was having sweet dreams, Lodus exam was being held in two rooms, he was surprised not to see me. But he thought against calling me for he supposed I was in the other room. Sometimes, the world really conspires against you. Anyways, blissfully ignorant that the exam is already over, I went to exam center at 2 and found to my horror that the exam is over. Initially, I was mortified but then I confirmed that Kishore too had missed it. In my mind I was laughing hysterically. I had the dehli power with me. Aggressive diplomacy and absence of our normal faculty adviser and a great Professor meant we had a re-exam.But the entire exercise was really hilarious. Probably the most hilarious experience of my life.

Today and even then I laughed at the matter but my stay in KGP would have been extended by a year had it not been for this re-exam. That is ok but the stay of only Dehli would have been extended.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Comedy in crisis

Leave a Reply

