reflections of time

The decade that was

The month of December is usually the time we bribe our conscience. We look at all things that we did over the last year, We console ourselves for our screw ups ,mistakes and lie to ourselves that the next year would be better. This December is slightly better for me I have definitely two less lies to tell to pacify my inner guilt. I no longer need to tell me to stop bunking nor do I need to tell myself to be

disciplined in the way I lead my life. Being a diabetic, every meal, every second of laziness is a complicated third degree differential equation for me. But then I am no longer in college and my health is better than before. SO, there you go..

But its kind of funny, I miss this ritual of false promises. Even now I cant think of any major resolution rather than continuing the way I am doing.

We now live in the age of media. It’s a bit funny that this post was inspired by an article in cricinfo about the things we missed in the first decade of this millennium. This blog made me realize that 2009 wilt signify the end of second decade wherein I could really understand what a decade is. In many ways this year gives me the first opportunity to analyse the decade for the media frenzy that surrounded the new millennium in 1999. Doordarshan is probably the single biggest one word non-English entity that signifies the disconnect in the last two characters when i write any date. In the early nineties, DD1 in my uptron B&W tv was the holy grail of entertainment. Sometimes our antenna  did pick up signals of other temptations like ESPN but they were primarily an aberration.The B&W was replaced by a colour tv with a remote but for some high moral ground I did not allow cable tv at home. I wanted tv in my room and I did not want too many distractions. Although I was a teenager, I was given unparalleled freedom at home a courtesy not extended to my parents by me :D.A better part of 2000 was spent away from home. Now, I have DTH at parents home but i have a generic disdain for TV, my tastes have been polluted by ad free high-definition prints of TV series’s like house,In my home,, I have not bought a TV yet.

Next part is probably my digital life. Internet came to Dibrugarh in around 2000, I definitely had my first brush with internet in 2000 around the time of Sydney Olympics. I was really proud to have an email Id back then. Back usa.net had free email ids.although by the time i wanted to create an id it was subscription based. Yahoo was the big big giant of internet. But then all these are a part of 2000’s. the 90’s had no internet for me. Computer was a black and white screen having all data in floppies. It was fun to code in GW Basic. But all the hype around that time regarding computers and internet and the bust made me decide against studying computer sciencee.I thought if all people are computer engineers what is the fun in it. This resolution was manifested when I chose electronics over CS in IIT. Now I earn my bread and butter from internet and I stay online forever.

The third most significant thing for my generation is that India can win Test Matches abroad.

Standard

7 thoughts on “The decade that was

  1. Ambuj says:

    I read the comment too in cricinfo but yeah these are certain things that almost seem to be in a different era altogether. The cable less TV , BASIC on floppy driven comps and what not 🙂 .. nicely written dogu !

  2. K says:

    If i remember right, even my first email id was on usa.net, the next was a yahoo.co.uk id, back in class 10.

    My reasons for not taking computer science was the same, too much hullabulla about it. I still wonder what would have happened had I not taken EC 🙂

    and I never owned a computer till kgp 😦

    if i was capable of feeling nostalgia, I am sure I would have been very nostalgic after reading your blog 🙂

  3. anubhav says:

    u for got about LOGO n Prince of Persia n DAVE, all floppy based dinosaurs of our times…

    my first email id was yahoo too.. lost its password long ago though…

    and as far as revolutions of the first decade is concerned , u forgot abt CGI whose gifts were star wars, Jurassic park n godzilla 🙂

Leave a Reply

