kaygeepee, life, philosophical me

On Insurmountable odds and immovable rocks

This is probably one of my numerous nonsensical monologues that usually come to pass in verbal countenance. For a change it is now in zeros and ones and thus I shall try to please the high lamas sipping their cup of tea which made its journey from a garden near my childhood abode to the porcelain cups that now graces their smoke tarred lips in some corner of the Oxbridge. In my not so distant childhood, we had a subject called alternative English. From a mathematical perspective or rather arithmetical smog, this subject was nightmare. On a philosophical plane there was no right or wrong answer. You never got marks. For me the subject went beyond marks, it had stories to tell it had words to be looked up in dictionary, words that spoke a thousand words that painted a thousand pictures.Words that stained my imaginary canvas with all the droplets oozing from the battle field of the fight between the rain Gods and the Sun. For the sake of my literary mind, it did help that my first major crush went to the same English tuition as me. I was in a boys school so the only avenue to have heterosexual crush was tuitions. For the holier than thou, who feel I have defiled a sacrosanct temple of learning, I tender my unconditioned apology. But my teenage crush did spur me on to reach higher echelons of English language. It is another matter that things ended rather acrimoniously, one fine day I realized my then best friend had substituted his crush for three months with the object of my crush. I was devastated and in my state of shock I started doing things I never did before too much. I started studying like hell and made my way into IIT.
Somethings really don’t change, I still waste major chunk of real estate of my post in my customary beating about the bush. Well in the alternative English, I read the story of Antigone, her indomitable spirit that surmounted all odds moved the immovable rocks to give her slain brother a decent burial. I also read about the vengeance of fate that made kreon lose his own son who dies by his own hand on learning of Antigone’s death at the altar of his fathers inscrutable laws.The words inscrutable and insurmountable still finds me stranded on the sand dunes of a dry desert soaked in the tears of Kreon and lips parched by the dryness of the world that surrounds me. But the fascinating part of the experience was that the story was written by a blind man. Having conquered my malfunctioning pancreas to some extent, I thought i could conquer all but alas certain things are beyond the grasp of my hand. But life is not a fairy tale, I was told one day that I have lost one of the biggest fights of my life sometime back. Certain rocks do not bow before the indomitable spirit of civilization. Every day I pray and hope for the words of the essay “On Fame” to come true. Maybe human spirit is indomitable, maybe we win something in all the battles that we loose or it might be that somethings are just written and will come to pass no matter what the minds of any insignificant human soul decrees.Maybe some dams can defeat the surging waves of the oceans till the oceans tire and dry out. Maybe you are born to lose something and win a few in the few moments that we exist in this world.

Standard

7 thoughts on “On Insurmountable odds and immovable rocks

  1. anubhav says:

    greek mythology padhe the school main??? hmm… that explains a few things. waise coming to IIT bcoz u were unable to get ur crush was probably one of the stupidest acts in the world 😛 😛 But then u dont realise that until u come here. so no bad on ur part 🙂

  2. Anirudh says:

    dont know much about difficulties and turning rocks to dust – it is best left blind philosophers – but i like the idea that u came to iit becos u cudnt win a girls heart! Is there such a lost romantic in every IITians heart?

  3. himangshu says:

    clarification: my coming to iit was the direct fallout of my best friends betrayal,regarding winning the girls heart i was so shell shocked that i did not have a proper crush for another 6 years of which 2 were spent outside iit

Leave a Reply

